SMI'2020 Fabrication and Sculpting Event

Call for Papers

The Fabrication and Sculpting Event (FASE) presents original research at the intersection of theory and practice in shape modeling, fabrication, and sculpting. FASE focuses on the practical problems of generating shapes and specifically addresses the interplay of theory and practice. FASE invites practitioners who have inspiring ideas to contribute their work concerned with techniques to design, sculpt and fabricate shapes. The work with clear algorithmic or mathematical aspects along with practical applications such as digital heritage is particularly desired.


FASE solicits papers that pose new questions and motivate further research in designing, fabrication, and sculpting. Topics should be useful, for example, in the following areas: (1) Fabrication of digital models, (2) Advanced manufacturing techniques such as additive manufacturing, laser cutting or CNC milling, (3) Interactive or procedural design of manufacturable shapes, (4) Interconnections of complex modeling and fabrication processes, (5) Visually stimulating fabrication techniques or printed structures.


All FASE paper submissions will be handled via the easy-chair system following a one-stage peer review cycle. Accepted FASE papers will be published in a special issue of the Hyperseeing magazine. FASE paper presentations will be 15 minutes in length. They will be presented in a specific FASE session at the SMI'2020. Accepted papers and posters must be presented in person by registering the SMI conference.


SMI'FASE 2020 will be co-located with the Shape Modeling International (SMI 2020) and the Symposium on Solid and Physical Modeling (SPM 2020) and will take place from June 2nd to 4th at at the University of Strasbourg and organised by the ICube laboratory as an event of Shape Modeling International conference (SMI'2020).

Submission Guidelines

All papers must be original and not simultaneously submitted to another journal or conference. The following paper categories are welcome:

  • Full papers describing methods in detail with a limit of 16 pages.
  • Short papers describing methods in less detail with a limit of 8 pages.
  • Posters describing methods in much less detail with a limit of 4 pages.

All papers should be submitted using the EasyChair website.

Important Dates

  • April 10, 2020 : Abstract Submission Due
  • April 13, 2020 : Full Paper Submission Due
  • May 1, 2020 : Acceptance Notification
  • May 15, 2020 : Camera Ready Papers Due
  • June 2-4, 2020 : Event @ Strasbourg

SMI Conference Chairs

  • Loic Barthe (Université de Toulouse, IRIT, CNRS)
  • Frederic Cordier (University of Haute-Alsace)
  • Hui Huang (Shenzhen University)

FASE Technical Paper Chairs

  • Oleg Fryazinov (Bournemouth University)
  • Melina Skouras (Inria, Grenoble)
  • Shinjiro Sueda (Texas A&M University)

FASE Steering Committee: Ergun Akleman, Loic Barthe, Karina Rodriguez Echavarria, Negar Kalantar, Guiseppe Patane, Konrad Polthier, Vinayak Krishnamurthy, Carlo Sequin, Courtney Starrett, Wei Yan 

Online user: 1